Wisdom From A Bear

I have a handful of favorite phrases/quotes that have stuck with me for years and have somehow become anchors for me at any given time, during any given season. A few of them I have typed on plain white computer paper or painted onto canvas that hang in sight, reminders of who I want to be, reminders of grace in my imperfections.

The following little blurb, however, is one I hold so dear for other reasons. It brings with it a memory of great laughter, the kind that comes from your belly, most genuinely and in an instant. I laughed this way because it is so true and so perfect for the way I feel about the subject: breakfast. I read this quote in one of my favorite brunch spots in Denver, Colorado, Duo. When my friend first told me about Duo she said to me, “Erin, I don’t know how else to describe it besides saying it’s just so you.” When I walked into the place for the first time I knew exactly what she meant. I felt as though I had walked right into my own kitchen, my own home, my own space. It was perfect and the food, each time I had the privilege to eat there, was quite perfect, also. Printed on one of their sweet menus was the following:

“‘When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,’ said Piglet at last, ‘what’s the first thing you say to yourself?’

‘What’s for breakfast?’ said Pooh. ‘What do you say, Piglet?’

‘I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?’ said Piglet.

Pooh nodded thoughtfully. ‘It’s the same thing,’ he said.”      -A.A. Milne

I couldn’t have said it better myself, Pooh.

I’m already looking forward to breakfast tomorrow morning.

4 thoughts on “Wisdom From A Bear

  1. Joanna tarkiewicz says:

    This brightens my morning! I would love to eat breakfast at a place that is filled with Erin-Skidmores-ness! Please open your own restaurant. I would come!

Leave a Reply

