Blessings, Renewal, Gathering the Bones

Moon Date: February 3, 2015

Love Feast: semolina loaf, pomegranate seeds, goat cheese drizzled with honey, dark chocolate with sea salt and almonds, pinot noir

Soundtrack: Bon Iver Station on Pandora

“We all began as a bundle of bones lost somewhere in a desert, a dismantled skeleton that lies under the sand.” -Clarissa Pinkola Estes

After stepping into the wilderness on January’s moon, I’ve been working on gathering my bones.

My dear, soul-friend and I are reading through a book together this year. The book runs along the veins of story-telling, spiritual becoming, and the wild woman that lies within. Women Who Run With the Wolves, by Clarissa Pinkola Estes, provided a rich backdrop for our conversation surrounding February’s moon theme and at our celebration on the night after the Full Moon I couldn’t help but think that God, The One Who Knows, had something to do with this timing.

This month’s moon brings with it Celebration, Creativity, Renewal, and Blessings. Somehow, these themes resonate with me as I reflect on the last month, feel a faint fluttering in my gut, have an inexplicable energy that is quietly, but surely pulsing within. I think I am beginning to gather up my dry bones.

In this process I am reminded of the passage in Ezekiel when the prophet converses with the Lord at the valley full of bones, the people of Israel (37:1-14). Though I am not yet to the dancing, not yet the army come back to life, I do believe I am just beginning to discover the places where I’ve left some of my dry bones behind. At times I feel as if I could fill the Grand Canyon full of more bones than my body actually could contain. There are femurs lost to heartache, skulls in the sand due to loss, and metacarpals scattered everywhere because of unmet expectation, confusion, and discouragement.

But, thankfully, I have a heart that still beats and with my heart I might conjure up a song to sing life over what I have left behind, as Estes puts it, “to breathe soul over the thing that is ailing or in need of restoration“.

And with that I breathe in: Blessings. Renewal. Creativity. Celebration. And breathe out: Blessings. Renewal. Creativity. Celebration.

There was a noise, a rattling sound…(Ezekiel 37:7, NIV)

Leave a Reply

